Internship | Esquivel

The next logical step after leathercrafting for me was shoemaking.  Actually, leathercrafting for me was more or less a stepping stool for the larger goal of learning shoemaking.  So I’ve been stealing away in my spare time for the last 8 months or so, learning the shoemaking ropes at the LA-based handmade shoe company, Esquivel.  Making shoes by hand is a dying art and it’s a shame, because it’s a beautiful and time-honored trade.  I have a genuine interest in learning shoemaking and in a sense, to have a hand in preserving the trade.

I got in contact with George Esquivel by chance and didn’t hesitate to ask him about an internship with his company.  It’s been amazing being there and I’ve gained an invaluable amount of knowledge thanks to George and his team.  Leaving this opportunity was one of the only things that made me regretful of moving, but I’ll no doubt continue to drop in whenever I’m in town (which will be very frequent).  This won’t be the end of the road for me and shoemaking…

If you’re looking for a unique, solid pair of handmade shoes made by artisans who take pride in what they do, take a look at Esquivel.  You won’t be disappointed.  George’s playful yet tasteful take on shoes always comes off effortlessly and somehow always manages to look modern and fashion forward, yet still classic.  Huge thanks to George and all the good folks at Esquivel for sharing their time and knowledge with me.

4 responses to “Internship | Esquivel

  1. Waw… Heaven is in this shop… :D

  2. Wow those shoes are expensive D: but it’s good quality and handmade.
    Teppei I emailed u about makin me a leather bag is it possible u can make that happen for a true thrice fan :D
    I can pay labor materials shipping etc.

    • Things have been hectic with the move and I haven’t had anytime for leather crafting but I plan on making some more stuff once things settle down.

  3. The process and craft behind Esquivel shoes is truly one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen, what an amazing opportunity to be able to absorb all his knowledge. I’m actually friends with his younger brother, Ricardo

Leave a Reply

