Honda CB350


Sorry about the lack of posts but I’ve been on a general hiatus from the internet due to me having a lot going on right now…one of which is my somewhat newly acquired ’72 CB350 which I’ve been working on endlessly and riding here and there.  I got it non-operational and after lots of late nights, big frustrations, soiled denim, acid eaten shirts, a million kick starts, tons of reading and even more learning, I’ve got her up and running fairly well.  There’s still lots of room for improvement (it’s a 40 year old bike with nearly all stock parts and not a lot of maintenance) but I’m happy with it for the time being.  I will eventually do a full tear-down/rebuild, but I need to ride it around and enjoy it for a bit.

These bikes look great stock and are an obvious candidate for a killer cafe racer.  I’m not really sure where I’m going to go with it at the moment, but I’m thinking probably something between a cafe and a brat.  We’ll see.  Anyhow, vintage motorcycles have been my growing obsession over the last year or so, mostly due to influence from several friends who ride/fix them up and sites like Southsiders (who I just found out linked this site :)).  It’s a nearly primal instinct in a man to be attracted to motorcycles, and once you get on one and furthermore, get your hands dirty and start working on them, the lure is undeniable.  Since I’m drawn to pretty much all things vintage, vintage motorcycles have grown to be a pretty serious obsession of mine.  Now I just need to learn some welding and fabrication skills (anyone wanna teach me?) Can’t wait for my next one!

P.S. I’m thinking of going back and documenting some of the work I’ve done on the bike here in case anyone is interested.  I for one have benefited a whole lot from people doing the same.

8 responses to “Honda CB350

  1. I would actually love to see some progress photos and more info on your learning process. I’ve wanted to do the same on a bike of my own for a while but it seemed like such an overwhelming project.

  2. Dude that motorcycle is awesome! I have been getting into the vintage bikes as well. Ive been looking at a lot of Hondas just like that one. Keep posting on the progress of the build, can’t wait to see what it turns into.

  3. Oh man, this is awesome! Thanks for all the vintage inspiration! It has really inspired me to get creative and make/fix a few things of my own recently. Show us the progress photos.

  4. That is a sexy looking bike. I would love some photos of the process and perhaps any helpful links as well as books that helped in the process too.

  5. Hey Teppei,
    I’d love to see progress blurbs. I’m excited to hear that a member of my favorite band has the same growing obsessions as I. I started out with something modern (’05 CBR600RR) and while I love the impracticality and performance, the vintage BMWs, Triumphs, and Hondas always caught my eye. I’d like to purchase something similar down the road. You should throw some clip-on handlebars on the bike … and promise you’ll never consider ape-hangers.

    PS. Be sure to check out http://www.bikeexif.com. I think you’d like it.

  6. I had a sweet ’72 CL350 for a while. It was in great condition, I think it had about 8k original miles. Here are some shots of it: http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=cl350&w=84362437%40N00

    Working on bikes can be rewarding – I know the one time I got the carbs balanced just right felt pretty good. Of course, they went right back to being wonky within a week, but hey ;)

    • Yeah, I’m definitely due for another carb clean. Doesn’t help that the tank has some rust. I should probably do something about that…

Leave a Reply

